Colorado State Trooper charged with drunk driving, BAC twice legal limit | Denver Criminal Defense Attorney

The Denver Post is reporting that Douglas County Sheriff’s Deputies made a shocking DUI arrest on Monday.

Concerned motorists reported the erratic driving behavior of a Colorado State Trooper who was in his marked police cruiser.  Douglas County Sheriff’s Deputies intercepted the vehicle, made a traffic stop, and identified the driver as David Dolan, a 21-year veteran of the Colorado State Patrol.  Dolan, 49, was in uniform at the time of the arrest.

Trooper Dolan was taken to the police station where he provided a breath sample of .194—more than twice the legal limit in the state of Colorado.

Dolan was charged with driving under the influence, and prohibited use of weapons.  He was released on bond, and a hearing is set for this coming Monday.

Dolan did not hire an attorney from 5280defense.com.

What is the punishment for burglary? | Denver Criminal Defense Attorney

Punishment ranges for burglary can be confusing, and are directly linked to the facts and circumstances surrounding the crime.

Type Class Incarceration Parole Fine
First Degree Burglary Class 3 Felony 4 – 12 years 5 years $3,000 – $750,000
Second Degree Burglary Class 4 Felony* 2 – 6 years 3 years $2,000 – $500,000
Third Degree Burglary Class 5 Felony** 1 – 3 years 2 years $1,000 – $100,000
Possession of Burglary Tools Class 5 Felony 1 – 3 years 2 years $1,000 – $100,000

* Class 3 felony if burglary is of a dwelling or residence or the objective of the theft is a controlled substance.

** Class 4 felony if objective of theft is a controlled substance.

What is the punishment for a firearms or weapons charge? | Denver Criminal Defense Attorney

What is the punishment for a firearms or weapons charge?

Type Class Incarceration Parole Fine
Carrying a concealed weapon / unlawful possession of weapons Class 2 Misdemeanor* 3 – 12 months None $250 – $1,000
Defacing a firearm Class 1 Misdemeanor** 6 – 18 months None $500 – $5,000
Possession of illegal weapon Class 1 Misdemeanor 6 – 18 months None $500 – $5,000
Possession of dangerous weapon Class 5 Felony*** 1 – 3 years 2 years $1,000 – $100,000

* Class 6 felony if at a school, college or university, unless an exception applies.

** You may also face federal charges.

*** Class 4 felony for subsequent violations.

The law is very strict and there are enhanced punishments for repeat offenders.  Additionally, convicted felons charged with possession of weapons face extremely harsh sentences.  It is imperative that you contact our offices today so we may begin fighting for your freedom!

If I do not want to fight the charge, is jail the only option? | Denver Criminal Defense Attorney

No, there are many options available.  Depending on your criminal background, employment history, and references, you may be eligible for a variety of sentencing options.

Theft | Denver Criminal Defense Attorney

Theft Defense Starts Here

Being charged with and convicted of theft can have a dramatic impact on your life.  You may experience the shame and embarrassment of having to explain this to family, friends and co-workers.  More often, you will experience other consequences of this type of charge: loss of job, inability to find an apartment, distrust amongst those closest to you.

At the Law Offices of ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ, we understand how this crime can effect your life and will fight to help you to maintain your dignity.

Theft

Theft of Rental Property

Aggravated Motor Theft

Transactions for Profit in Stolen Goods

Theft of Medical Records

Theft by Resale of a Lift Ticket

Fuel Piracy

Newspaper Theft

What is the punishment for theft?

If I do not want to fight the charge, is jail the only option?

If I do not want to fight the charge, is jail the only option? | Denver Criminal Defense Attorney

No, there are many options available.  Depending on your criminal background, employment history, and references, you may be eligible for a variety of sentencing options.

I’m innocent, but I just want to resolve this quickly and quietly. | Denver Criminal Defense Attorney

Facing this type of crime prevents you from qualifying for deferred prosecution, and requires enrollment and attendance in specific treatments.  Even if you are granted probation or deferred sentencing, you will not be allowed to live in your own home if your accuser still resides there.

Domestic Violence | Denver Criminal Defense Attorney

Domestic Violence Defense Starts Here

Approximately 1.3 million women and 835,000 men are physically assaulted by an intimate partner annually in the United States.  Law enforcement officials have responded to this in creating very strict laws for domestic violence.  Often times, the police are in such a hurry to separate the parties and figure out what happened that there is a rush to judgment…and it’s done at your expense.

I did not do what they’re saying—this is all a lie!

I didn’t even touch my accuser. How is this domestic violence?

I own my house (or hold the lease), so I should not have to go.

I’m innocent, but I just want to resolve this quickly and quietly.

This was self-defense…what now?

If I do not want to fight the charge, is jail the only option?

Call the Law Offices of ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ today and let us start fighting for your rights!

Assault Punishment | Denver Criminal Defense Attorney

Punishment ranges for assault can be confusing, and are directly linked to the facts and circumstances surrounding the event.

Type Class Incarceration Parole Fine
First Degree Assault Class 3 Felony* 4 – 12 years 5 years $3,000 – $750,000
Second Degree Assault Class 4 Felony** 2 – 6 years 3 years $2,000 – $500,000
Third Degree Assault Class 1 Misdemeanor 1 – 3 years 2 years $1,000 – $100,000
Menacing Class 3 Misdemeanor*** 6 months None $50 – $750

* Class 5 felony if assault is committed as a result of sudden passion or a highly provoking act.

** Class 6 felony if assault is committed as a result of sudden passion or a highly provoking act.  Class 3 felony if serious bodily injury results.

*** Class 5 felony if use or display a deadly weapon, or represent that you are armed with a deadly weapon.

Certain offenses carry mandatory sentences that are different than those listed here.  You need an attorney who can investigate and challenge the government’s evidence.  It is very important that you contact the Law Offices of ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ today to discuss your case.

Assault & Armed Assault | Denver Criminal Defense Attorney

Assaults can be confusing crimes because there are many charging options for the prosecutor.  Some things a prosecutor considers when making a charging decision are:

1. Your mental state or intent;

2. The injury inflicted;

3. Whether a weapon (or something used as a weapon) was used;

4. The identity or class of the victim or intended victim.

What are the degrees of assault?

What are the punishments for assault?

The assault was in self-defense.  What now?

Self-defense is a common defense to most assaults.  If applied correctly, it can be very successful.  This requires a professional who understands the facts of your particular case.  Call the Law Offices of ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ today for a free consultation.  Let us tell your side of the story so that the prosecution understands what really happened.

If I don’t want to fight the charge, is jail the only option?

No, there are many options available.  Depending on your criminal background, employment history, and references, you may be eligible for a variety of sentencing options.